The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the whole nano reef tank concept. I was wondering if an Eclipse 6 gallon would be sufficient or should I go for something along the lines of a JBJ? It needs to be small and efficient because I'm keeping it in my dorm.

·
Registered
189 Posts
I have setup a few eclipse nano tank successfully. I have used the eclipse 6 with softies and now I have a new 12 gallon eclipse with lps, sps, softies, and a clam. Of course I did a few modifications to it. Let me know if you have any specific questions with using the eclipse 6.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well I'm looking to start out with Live Rock and a couple hardy fish (clown and something else?) and later on once it is pretty stable start to add a few soft corals and such. What modifications would be needed to keep the system running nicely?

·
Registered
189 Posts
Well first off if you plan on having some softies you are going to need a new light. I would suggest current-usa 40w pc. http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewItem.asp?idproduct=CU01002
This light works great with the eclipse 6. They also make a dual 40w pc that I was thinking about getting before I upgraded to the eclipse 12.
http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewItem.asp?idproduct=CU01012
I liked using the 10k w 460actinic bulb. My friend twitterbait is using the same light that I was using, and he is still using the stock filter. I suggest though if you want more filtration to use the Haggen AquaClear backpack.
http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewItem.asp?idproduct=HG10610
I believe I used the 50 and not the 30. It fits perfectly on the left side of the tank. That is all that I did to the eclipse and it works great.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the great advice. I really appreciate the help. Anyone have pics of 6g eclipse setups?

·
Saltwater Mom
5,869 Posts