The Reef Tank banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
ReefKeeper
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to saltwater tanks and just found the forum a few days ago. It's great and you all have a lot of great ideas and experience. I'm hoping that you can help me out and I get further into the hobby. Thanks in advance for any help and ideas. My questions are at the bottom. Hopefully i'm providing adequate detail on the tank.

Specs:

-New tank 4/1/06, LR added over several weeks.
-125g main tank with 30 gallon refugium
-210 lbs fiji live rock and 4 Damsels (for some color)
-Refugium has 15+lbs Seachem MATRIX on inlet, 50lbs live sand, LR rubble caularpa 3 150W heaters and a powerhead, return is a Quietone 5000 pump and Coralife Super Skimmer 125
-Main tank lights are Coralife Aqualight Pro 72" (just tested, not running a lot), Refugium light is a 32W powercompact that I have been running 24/7 based on LFS recommendation (for now).
-Currently NH3=0, Nitrite=0, Nitrate=5, Temp ranges 75-78 F, S.G. is 1.020-1.024 (depending on method of measurement)

Here are some pics (I hope)...

Tank 050606.JPG

Refugium 050606.JPG

Refugium 050606-3.JPG

So, my questions:

1. What is all the brown slime . .algae in the refugium? Is it Diatoms. What happens from here?
2. I have been using a S.G. meter with a swing arm. I just bought a hydrometer to compare. They were WAY apart. Any advice on which to trust? The hydrometer says my S.G. is low.
3. What do you all recommend on lighting now and in the future.
4. When should I begin water changes. I have held off to let the system come to equlibrium.
5. I need to get sand next for the main tank. Any recommendations as to depth. LFS said 2". 50% live and 50% not would be fine.