The Reef Tank banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks, nice to join you here. I'm a newbie and have a question on my new tank, which does not seem to want to start it's cycle.
Installed evening of 9/5 by reputable local store owner.
Tank - 120g
82lbs of Marshall Island Live Rock. Somewhat cured in store's tanks for unknown amount of time.
2 bags of Argo something live sand
Filter - drip system w/prefilter and Bio balls and protein skimmer - all running constant since setup
2 additional Power heads moving water around
Custom Sea Life Power Compact Moonlite - on quite a bit the 1st 2 days, now on maybe 2-4 hours day.
Notice good bit of life in the rocks starting Sunday. Small red worms w/Spikes, 4-5 little bug looking things, about 7 very small black/white snails

The following are from memory, they are at home and I am at work. Used a SeaChem Marine Basic test kit. I'm already seeing Nitrates...I thought I would not see them at all until the end of the cycle;

Tested water Sunday (Day 2)
Amonia .02
Nitrites 0
Nitrates .5

Tested water again Tuesday (Day 4)
Amonia .02
Nitrites 0
Nitrates .5

The Salinity has gone up from 1.023 to 1.024
The Akalinity has dropped a bit too.

I thought I should be well into my Amonia spike by now?
Any ideas?

·
Registered
706 Posts
TheMehal
I am also cycling a tank right now. I am not suprised that you haven't seen much ammonia. I put about 30 lbs of "semi-cured" rock into my tank and a week later added some really really RAW rock. The first week I didn't see any ammonia at all, and only a slightly elevated nitrites and nitrates (both about .1 ppm). Then two days after adding the really RAW rock I was up to 2ppm nitrites and about 25ppm nitrates. So now my cycle is in obvious full swing.

I suspect you are going to see a very weak cycle because your rock probably had substantially less "die off" than something you would have had transhipped in.