The Reef Tank banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I won this skimmer (see below) on ebay. The original owner owned an LFS and used it in a 75gal tank. It is rated up to 75gals. Being a newbie, I have no idea how to set it up. :confused:

Problem 1: As you can see from the pictures I have attached, I just plopped it into my 1922 (bad joke) sump. Since I have a lid covering half the sump (and no patience to wait to fix it..just came in mail today) I placed it in the smaller half with my return pump.
I know all of you will underline the word patience in your replies.

Problem 2: I started the system as is and received a surprise. Billions and Billions of microbubbles in my display. Obviously not normal so I started my tinkering. No joy......:clown: (I'm such a clown)

Problem 3: The skimmer sounds like a freight train running through my sump. I turn the pvc into the skimmer itself and this causes the water level to rise into the collection cup and overflow through the little tubing at the top of the collection cup. Sorta solves the freight train problem and turns it into a drag racer. Better?

Problem 4: I'm a noob. I have no idea how to set this thing up. Any and all help with this problem will be greatly appreaciated. Thank you.

Problem 5: I tried to attach picutures in my sump, for some reason I can't? +++++++ I figured out the problem. My pictures exceed the forum limit of 300kbs. Of course, nothing else is working for me. :lol:

Here is the link to the exact skimmer that I have
https://www82.safesecureweb.com/webaquatics/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=ACS75&Category_Code=ACA

·
Registered
1,210 Posts
Bio-Reef can answer this for sure! I could show you but not good at describing things. You could also call Pro Clear Aquatics here in Jacksonville. They are the company that makes them. They used to be called Aqua Clear.