The Reef Tank banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I'm very new to this hobby and currently undecided on which route to go.

I would like to have an experience setting up my own tank and was looking at maybe a 30g L. The thing is at this point in my life I can only afford to make this purchase once, failure would mean waiting another 6 months to try again. A biocube could be the safer option.

Any thoughts?
Thanks for your advice.

·
Registered
152 Posts
The first thing I would think about is what you want to keep. Get familiar with which types of livestock you want to keep. Also if you plan on keeping inverts and/or corals for a reef. If you want a peaceful vs. more agressive type of tank. Answering these questions before you start looking at tank size will help you figure out what your needs will be. A lot of people go in blind and then end up with problems like putting up a hippo tang in a 30 gallon tank when they need six feet of swimming room so they end up with ick. Do some research and it will help you avoid a lot of mistakes many of us made when starting out. Welcome and good luck!!! :)

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I'm looking at keeping a reef with perhaps a shrimp or 2 and a few fish no larger than a fire goby.

One thing I am currently looking into is the fire shrimp's compatibility with other shrimp. From what I've read so far often times shrimp won't get along unless they each have enough space, or are well mannered individuals. I'm O.K. with trying out a pair hoping they won't go at it and having to live with just a single shrimp instead of 2, however I was hoping a 30g or 30g long would give them at least a chance to have their own space.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Ok great! I think you are making a good choice with a 30 gallon then. Start firing any questions you have and people will be very happy to help. What are your main concerns starting out?

·
Registered
9 Posts