The Reef Tank banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I am fairly new to the hobby, and new to TRT. I have been reading the forums and have found a lot of useful info. Thanks all!

I was hoping someone could answer a question for me.

I just took delivery of some new coral from Premium Aquatics today and hav aclamated them to my tank. All specimens seem to be doing fine except a Green Star Polyp. It has shown no sign of extending any of its polyps.

Is this normal, or do I have a DOA?

Jason

·
Registered
658 Posts
GSP's are pretty moody specimens, but they are also extremely hardy. It should open up in a couple of days.

I had a bit of GSP attached to a small piece of rock that I had (unknowingly) put in my sump when rearranging the tank one night... I discovered it about a month later and put it back in the tank... it recovered in about a weeks time and is now doing very well.

HTH

·
Registered
418 Posts
This is normal! The GSP can hold their little polyps in for up to a week or even 2! I would give it a gentle blast with a NEW and for the tank only turkey baster in the tank, every day to keep cyno and stuff like that off it. If it doesn't come out after a week or so I would worry then. HTH

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks. I was worried. It didn't seem to show any signs of life like the bubble coral that expanded almost immediately. I'll keep an eye on it.

Appreciate the advice.

Jason

G

·
if not open after 4 days move it and wait...it will open onc it is in a happy place
what type of lighting you have...where is it placed in the tank

·
Registered
340 Posts
In case noone yet:

WELCOME TO TRT!