The Reef Tank banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys! Its been awhile since i've been on so I made a new account.

I finally set up my 72 in wall bowfront tank! I had to move over the inhabitants of my 8 gallon right after set up though cause it was right on the verge of a terrible crash (started the tank off on the wrong foot a few years ago when I set it up, I was a noob...). The tank is in the final stages of the cycle I believe; I went through Diatoms and am now finishing with Cyano and green film. Everything is starting to finally clear up :)

However I have noticed something major; evaporation. I have never owned a tank this size so Im not quite sure if this is normal or not but wow water is evaporating like crazy! The water level in the third chamber of my sump with the return drops so quickly! I have to keep it high to avoid a ton of microbubbles. In this past week I went through 10 gallons of Salt and RO combined with top off in the third chamber.

The room gets kinda of warm when the lights are on, but with the recent addition of the Honeywell fan it has helped significantly with temperature in the room.

Just wondering if anyone has some advice on dealing with evaporation and how much the tank should be evaporating.

Sorry for the long post! will post photos soon!

·
Aquatic Philosopher
15,434 Posts
RO/DI (without salt) for evap only. I can easily go through 10g in a week. I do have a fan on a controller so if it gets hot, the fan blows across the surface.

My other concern is the bow-front itself... I think the bow needs to be supported from the bottom and can not be hanging out of the wall like that... there is a lot of pressure of that front plate.

·
Registered
3,104 Posts
My other concern is the bow-front itself... I think the bow needs to be supported from the bottom and can not be hanging out of the wall like that... there is a lot of pressure of that front plate.