The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have had my tank for 6 mths so now i can finally start my reef - what type of light is best for my tank - to add to my current florescents. i have a 60gallon tank and the canopy is 41" in length. i need to not spend a whole lot of money so i know that used is ususally best.
any help is appreciated :)

thanks

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well squid - those are all great questions :) - my current florecents are 2 18" 15watt bulbs, one is reef sun 50/50 and the other is coral sun actinic 420, my tank speks are 19" deep and 40" wide - not sure what i want to put in there, i am still new at this, so any suggestions are well accepted...plus i have a clown so i need something to keep him out of my sand, he is killing me with tail digging :)

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
also, could you please use full names, the initials confuse me because i am still new at this :-D

·
Registered
585 Posts
Jan:

I can tell you right off the bat that your existing lighting system will not work for corals or anemonies.

If you could swing a couple hundred bucks, you can get a decent VHO retro kit. What comes with a retro kit is

2 110 Watt VHO (very hight output) bulbs (my favorites) OR 2 96 Watt PC (power compact) lamps
All wiring and end caps, and the ballast. If you go with VHO's you won't need reflectors, cause they have a built in reflector. If you go with the PC's the retro kit reflector comes with the kit.

This is providing you have a canopy to install them in. If not, look at the Jalli light systems, they come in PC hoods. I am sure others do to, I just can't think of them at the moment.

With this set up you will be able to have an assort of corals, no hard corals, but a nice soft coral tank.

What type of Clown (I'm braced for a tomato)

·
Premium Member
34,435 Posts