The Reef Tank banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
ICH is work of the DEVIL
324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
need a quick answer because I'm getting some shrooms from a local clubmember on Sat morning. he is cutting 5 shrooms from from his tank and I have ZERO experience with shrooms.....

....if I use the small plastic dixie-cup method (where you put some rock-rubble in a cup and put one shroom per cup then everything back in the tank for 1week until all shrooms attach) CAN I USE MY CURRENT SUBSTRATE GRAVEL AS MY ROCK-RUBBLE?????

Will the shroom attach itself to my substrate gravel which is like 5-10 millimeters per rock in size? Its fairly "chucky" and oversized gravel

STOCK PHOTO:

·
kid impersonator
3,840 Posts
throw them in a blender and you'll get a lot more than 5 (jk)

they should attach to anything if the current doesn't blow them around

·
11,345 Posts
That will work fine, although it wont be heavy enough to hold them where you want once they do attach and you want to place them.........so it really wont be doing you much good. I suggest taking a small rock out of your tank and breaking it up so you have some rocks that you can allow them to attach to that wont be easily disturbed......
OR you can just let them attach to your gravel and then they WILL be easier to glue on a rock later............

·
ICH is work of the DEVIL
324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Fly Guy said:
That will work fine, although it wont be heavy enough to hold them where you want once they do attach and you want to place them.........so it really wont be doing you much good. I suggest taking a small rock out of your tank and breaking it up so you have some rocks that you can allow them to attach to that wont be easily disturbed......
GOOD POINT... I'm glad I asked.... I'm just bummed that my two smallest rocks in my tank are completely covered with coraline....I just hate to bust one of them up....then again the busting-up may help spread coraline thru-out the tank.