The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7,425 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone;
I'm new to the reef hobby as well as new to "the reef tank".
I have a 150 gallon tank with live rock live sand 3 power heads 1 wet dry sump 1 ehim wet dry 1 aqua clear power filter and a red sea berlin protein skimmer. I have about 12 fish the largest being a hippo tang about 6 inces and the smallest being a bi color gobie. I also have several diffrent coral all soft. 1 toad stool some mush room 2 colt coral and some polops.
I'm having problems with my nitrate levels I can't seen to get them blow 40ppm. I've changed as much as 40 galon and it has made little or no change inmy leveals. The fish all seem to be very happy and most of the coral seems fine except the toad stool and some of the polops. I bought a product I found on line called Al-cure and have been runing it for 10 days but so far no help. I was wanting to add more coral but not sure if I should with my leavals this high. Has anyone had this problem? If so is there anything and can do tolower it or corals I can add that dont mind high nitrates?
Thanks!

·
Registered
2,758 Posts
I think you have the nitrates because you have to many fish, and too much mechanical miltration that collects detridus. Do another water change and clean/ vacum out the sump. Clean the bio balls of the wet dry in salt water. Clean the whole enhimem and take the aqua clear, replace the carbon, rinse the sponge and / or ceramic bodies in salt water.

·
Fish Killin' Reef Keeper
358 Posts
I agree with the mechanical filtration being part of your problem. You say you are new to the hobby so I'm guessing your tank is pretty new too? It will take a well established, and balanced tank to handle that bioload and not have nitrates.

I'd read up on the alternatives to wet/dry filters, I converted mine to a sump w/ live rock. JUST read up on it, and do it very slowly as your rock will have to take over the load......