The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wanted to keep a log of my tank for my own sake and I figured some of ya'll may like to see it. Basically I'm away at college junior year and have to be portable and I miss my tank at home sooo this is the solution :)

Not much to see yet, but someday it will be :) Start off with the 2.5 gallon all glass aquarium :) 8-21-03

Attachments

·
Registered
276 Posts
Nice design and construction on the hood. Did you keep the hinges as you showed in your 3D render?

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks guys :) It is still a little rough around the edges, but its comming along. I am a student at Clemson :p :p :p haha. And yes the hinges are there, I will be sure to take some pictures of the back once I get the wood finished and the lights & cooling fan in.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
JoyR - Welcome, and thanks :) My girlfriend said the exact same thing, 'it looks really cute'

mnreefman - Haha, it looks kind of goofy for now, but the filler/sanding/stain is done today. Tommorow I will start the polyurethane junk.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
The stain and clear coat is done. I will keep putting coats of clear untill the lights arrive, I have nothing else to do untill then... The filter arrived friday, I am not sure if I am going to use the pad/carbon, or turn it into a little fuge... Any suggestions?

8-30-03

Attachments

·
Registered
266 Posts
Yeah I like the idea of a Journal. I got the idea for this at Scott M. website. It looked so cool and seemed like such a smart idea I just had to do it. Got one on my 55 and my 125. Havent added as many pictures as I would have liked but I am still working at it. The best thing about that other than a written record of your tank and the results, you get to see where you started, where your at now and how far you have came.