The Reef Tank banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Im very new to this so thought i'de post what i have so far to see if im on the right track.

I have a 185l Bow front aqua one tank with a 200w heater, aqua one 750 series 2 canister filter 650l/hr flow rate, v2skim 200 protein skimmer 720l hr flow, aqua-el power head reef 2600, lighting 24w marine blue 420 actinic tube and a white 34w tube (not sure on spec was pre fitted in tanks light fitting) 25k fuji uncured live rock.

The tank has been set up for 3 days so im playing the waiting game for it to cycle readings from tests are as follows
salt 1.024 salinity
ph 7.8
ammonia 2ppm
nitrite 5ppm / 2ppm color so close on test tube
nitrate 40ppm

the tank was filled to start with with tap water however the salt i bought with tank had something in it to remove the chlorene, Im aware that i will have to use ro water from here on in as per lfs advice.

Im very new to this and definatley welcome any comments of feedback

thank you in advance

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
hey guys is there anything else you feel i need to get for this tank or is it just a case of waiting for it to cycle

·
Registered
1,595 Posts
Well...Sounds like you already got a lot of equiptment...Most reefers do not use a canister filter as they tend to collect dirt and detrius and then create nitrites, this type of filter will work better for a fish tank, rather than a coral tank...RO/DI water is a must for corals as well, but if you are looking for a just a fish tank you should be ok with just RO water(this depends on the quality of water you have to start with)...Again, lighting is not that important with just fish, but some corals need very specific lighting...Let your tank cycle for a few months at least...move very slowly when adding livestock, and read a lot...There is a ton of information available on this site...Welcome, and all the best of luck.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4