The Reef Tank banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Questions for my first SW tank...Nano Cube LED?

Hey all,

I'm new to this board and new to SW tanks, so I've got some questions for you. I've been keeping freshwater for about 10 years, but have always wanted to try SW. I have a Nano Cube LED, which I believe is 28 gallons and came with a skimmer. I have had the tank set up for about 6 weeks, am using only RO water, and have had diatom bloom, and now this bright green algae bloom on my rocks (normal right?) that is starting to go away, and now coralline algae is beginning to spread. I have:

28 lbs of dead live rock (28lbs) from marcorocks.com
6 lbs of cured live rock
A 3 inch live sand bed

CUC:
1 nassarius
1conch
6 astreas
5 blue leg hermits
4 red leg hermits
1 red mythrix crab

Fish:
2 green chromis

I would just like to know your thoughts on some things I am wondering about being new to the hobby.

1. Do I need to add more flow to the system, like with a koralia nano?

I was hoping to stock the tank with what I have now plus maybe one clown, one cardinalfish, and a goby/pistol shrimp pair and maybe a cleaner shrimp.

2. Am I going to deal with compatibility issues among any of these?

3. I would also like to someday keep a bubble tip anemone, some corals, and a clam, but don't know much yet about requirements for any of these creatures yet. What special requirements are there? Which types are best for my nano cube?

4. What types of bio-load issues will I deal with with this plan? I have a skimmer and a total of 34 lbs of live rock and a 3 in live sand bed, and I plan on doing 3 gallon (~10%) water changes twice a week.

5. Should I have more in my CUC? If so, what?