The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 340 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,736 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

Since I am new to TRT, thanks to FatTony for introducing me to the site, I thought I would share some pictures and information about my tank setup.

I am definitely one who has learned and is still learning from experience and has bought many pieces of equipment more than once. I originally started out with a 12 gallon NanoCube, but with the helpful advice of a certain LFS I lost almost everything in the tank. :angry: I then purchased a used 90 gallon with a Marineland Tidepool II wet/dry and a set of PC lights for it. I got it going and was doing alright, but did not like the penetration of the lights with that deep of a tank. I then got the deal of the century so to speak on the 75 gallon system I am currently running.

Here are some pictures and descriptions:

Lighting:

For lighting I am using a 48" Aqualight Pro with 2 150 watt MHs and 2 96 watt Actinic PCs. With a little effort I was able to fit the fixture into the canopy without any modification and no blocking of the cooling fans.

Sump:
I am running a CPR CY-294 wet/dry for the skimmer and sump.

I took out the bio bale section and am using that for the sump area. This unit came with dual skimmer chambers and can handle 1500 gph. Since my tank is only a 75 gallon I plumbed it to only one skimmer and have the other pump and collection cup as extra in case something goes wrong.

My return pump is a Mag 9.5

Refugium:
Using a design I found on Melev's site for his Model I seaparated sump and fuge, I built my own acrylic refugium for the system.

I am lighting it with a power compact flood light from Lowes that uses 26 watts of electricity but puts out the equivalent light of a 200 watt bulb.

The Display:
This is what the tank looked like back in the summer of 2005