The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 86 Posts

· Lost At Sea
1,513 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok,

So I've decided to try and post my journey with setting up this 65G tank. I am still pretty new to the hobby and have been running a 10g nano for about a year.

Here is the setup when I recieved it:
- 65g drilled tank w/stand
- T5HO 4x39w: 2 actinic, 2 10,00k, 3 led moons
- Unknown make Protein skimmer
- Wet/Dry trickle filter

To date I've set the tank up, filled it with LFS saltwater and modified the sump as follows:
- Removed the wet/dry unit
- Placed a 10g tank and have the overflow drain feeding into a sock
- Placed my skimmer and return pump

I've decided to try this simple approach to filtering to see how it turns out. I've also modified the drain pipe with a DIY durso standpipe following the guide on their website. I'm actually pretty proud with how it turned out!

The pics of the tank with LR is where I am currently at. I've placed a 2" sandbed of oolite fine grain sand taken from my nano (nano is now BB). I've put mostly dry rock in the tank with a few pieces of LR from my nano.

As it's been determined this light may not be enough for my corals, I'm designing the aquascape so that most of my "show area" is mid-upper level. This should allow enough light for softies and some LPS. The idea of using small rocks as stilts will hopefully allow ample flow under and around the structures to keep detritus from building up.

Using the milk test, I am very pleased with the random and ample flow. Very little moves towards the bottom and the current constantly creates and upwards flow.

At this point it has been 3 weeks since the water and rocks were placed. I need to add more base rock and the rest of the LR from my nano.

I had a small spike in nitrates but have yet to see any detectable levels of ammonia or nitrites. I am thinking it may be safe to add my CUC and begin feeding food to the tank to help create a small bio-load for them to eat.