The Reef Tank banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I am new to the hobby and new to The Reef Tank.

I am in the process of having a 250 gallon salt water aquarium custom built. I have documented my game plan, if you will, and would appreciate any feedback.

Please let me know your thoughts on my plan. Please be completely honest as you will not hurt my feelings. I am still learning everyday about this hobby!

Thanks in advance,
Joe

Attachments

·
11,345 Posts
Welcometo TRT!!

:thumbup: looks SWEET!!

The only place i see you might want to reconsider is the pump running your closed loop(im assuming closed loop) spraybar. You could use a LOT more total waterflow in a tank that size. I would recommend something more like a sequence barracuda (4500 gph)and since you dont seem to be cutting any corners, might as well throw a Oceans motions 4-way or 8 way on that poump and you can run 6 OTHER lines, alternating along with that spraybar to get a sweet random flow in the tank.

thats what i just did on a 225...every lkine you see here is for the cls with the exception of the straight pipe across the top.....thats my sump returns. the only pipes in this tank are the spraybars

Even if you dont go with an OM, i would still reconsider that 1800 gph pump and add at least a couple more oputlets to your cls besides the spraybars.

One other thing is maybe NOT do the crushed coral or live sand. Starting fresh is a luxury and you should take advantage of it. Id go 100% aragonite and maybe seed it with 5 or ten pounds of live...or just be patient and let it become live on its own. With adequate healthy rock, it is not necessary to be live right off the bat assuming you dont add a bunch of fish immediately. Plus, it is cheaper than live sand.

Attachments

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5