The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am rather new to the hobby and new to the site and very excited to learn everything I can to get my tank running perfectly.
My setup includes:
-150 gal drilled tank
-30+ gal sump (3 section w baffle and 2 - 7in socks)
-EuroReef Skimmer
-NextReef SMR1 Reactor (with sponges added for PhosBan)
-200+ lbs live rock
-100lbs sand

I have been cycling for just around a month and am having trouble with GHA and decided to setup a phosban reactor. I did it at the same time as my bi-weekly 10% water change. I turned my return pump and skimmer off to do the change/install. This was 3 days ago and since I have been getting tons of microbubbles from both my returns into the tank. I want to solve it before it adversely affects the fish. I had this problem when I first installed my skimmer a few weeks ago and found the overflow from the skimmer was too close to my return and was sucking up the bubbles before they could dissipate in the sump. I fixed that by moving the overflow farther away and was bubble free for a week or so. They returned for me only to discover my sump level got too low and was creating a venturi and siphoning air. Topping off the water solved that. But now I cannot seem to figure out what the cause of the bubbles is.
The sump seems virtually bubble free and it seems the two return lines have micro bubbles in their water. What could cause this? I did not mess with any of the return plumbing when putting in my reactor. Could it be the Phosban reactor somehow? Or the fact that I cleaned my skimmer cup? Or the fact that I tried some different Red Sea water? All my parameters seem to be in check and the water looks super clear other than the tons of microbubbles. Please help, your expertise is much appreciated! Thank you

·
Premium Member
20,603 Posts
Gota love the micro bubbles, you will pull your hair out from time to time with them,