The Reef Tank banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I know I am about to get a lot of stick for this but I am going to ask anyway as I need help - urgently. I purchased a Black Tang 4 days ago and he is gorgeous. I should have quarantined, I know but he was the first fish in the tank and was going to be one of very few to go in!

on Monday (today is now Wednesday as I write this) he was spotless. Cut to today (Wednesday) he is absolutely plastered in white spots. I have some experience with white spot but never Marine Velvet. I have attached a photo of this fish on Monday and a photo of it today, just 2 days on.

I need to know, does this look like ich or velvet? I have some cupramine and I am going to treat him in a hospital tank - hopefully it is not too late. I haven’t noticed any swimming into powerheads, I haven’t actually seen him flashing and he had a good appetite but seems to have lost that a bit as the day has gone on.

Thank you and I apologise for having to see such a beautiful and expensive fish in such a state. I am desperate.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,978 Posts
If you can see spots its more then likely ich. Velvet seems more like a dust to the naked eye to me. But then again I believe I'm going blind so..... its hell getting old. Plus tangs are very prone to ich.
Go look over on humblefish site he has lots of information about it.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If you can see spots its more then likely ich. Velvet seems more like a dust to the naked eye to me. But then again I believe I'm going blind so..... its hell getting old. Plus tangs are very prone to ich.
Go look over on humblefish site he has lots of information about it.