The Reef Tank banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Professional Algae Grower
862 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I know I am a newbie (8 mo.), but this still hurts. I started running water to do a water change and had the drain valve that dumps water into my sump open. As the rodi was made, it overflowed my sump and lowered my salinity to .015. I CAN'T BELIEVE I AM SOOOO STUPID. I resolved the issue of salinity, but obviously my tank is in shock. I think the Xenas are going to die, I have never seen them look like that before. Every coral has slime on it and my coraline is dead. CRAP!!!! months of progress killed... I was looking forward to posting some pics of my tank, but whatever.

Also, i have some sort of Algae growing on a few of my corals. they are turning orange and look lke they are dieing in a couple places.

·
Registered
7,425 Posts
well its hard to say. How long was it low? Sometimes corals can fool you. This may not be as bad as it seems right now. Just realize your going through what most all us go through one time or the other. Right now the best thing you can do is just keep a close eye on your tank and remove anything that dies asap. I'm also new and I'm sure some of the more experienced reefers will chime in with better tips. Let us know how things go. I'm sending good thoughts your way

·
Registered
107 Posts
Its fast swings in SG that can effect your tank. How fast did it drop and how fast did you bring it back up? I hope you brought it back up slow.. How are the fish doing?
Corals are tough so you may luck out and have them bounce back.
Need a pic for the algae question

·
Premium Member
17,355 Posts