The Reef Tank banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello everybody! I am a former saltwater hobbyist,who is looking to getting back into the amazing hobby. I had a 55 gallon fowlr and live sand tank about a year ago,for about a year and a half,and had to tear it down due to insufficient heating and algae problems :(. I did not want to tear it down,but did not want to lose everything that i had either,so we took it down. We took the live rock out and put it in a tote on our porch to use later since we did not want to throw it out due to how expensive the rock can be and i grew partial to my beautiful rocks haha. They have not been in any saltwater since then so i know that technically they are not live anymore,but with a few new "live" live rocks,i am hoping that we can bring them back to life, So i have a few questions for u. 1. should i re cycle and cure the rocks before i put them back into my tank? 2. We had to part with the fifty five gallon and now have a nice 30 gallon with stand that we are going to use; but it was previously used for freshwater,so im wondering how we should clean it and get it ready for the new setup. 3. Since it is only a 30 gallon,i know it will have to be a nano saltwater aquarium,so im just wondering what are your suggestions for nano fish and invertabrates? Thanks for readiing and i hope to hear back from u soon :)

·
Premium Member
6,340 Posts
I would cook the old rocks first. And then one of two pieces of LR should get stuff moving.

Did you treat copper or any other kind of meds when it was a FW tank? If not, some hot water and something to scrub the walls and such down will do fine.

·
Aquatic Philosopher
15,434 Posts
Welcome back!!!