The Reef Tank banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to this hobby and just got myself a 90 Gallon tank (three months ago). I would like to eventually have a few clams and some of the hard corals that require a high level of lighting.

Here is the question:

I currently have a JBJ 2x96watt, which is fine for my current pieces (mainly mushrooms). If I were to upgrade my lighting, what would you suggest on getting? I hear that the Metal Halide runs very hot. I hear some good stuff about the new T-5 and VHO. Any suggestions? Also, Another Reefer said that I could setup my own DIY Metal Halide system for a fraction of the cost (what you would pay at the LFS). Any thoughts?

Thank you for all your recommendations,

Arbi

·
Pretty In Pink
3,288 Posts
If it were me, I would get 250w. One- for future expansion , ie next tank 135 to 180g or so and two for the coral growth, mainly SPS's, ricordias (some) and so on.

Yes there is a heat issue. I don't run a cooler but two fans on a timer and it keeps it around 80-81', the fans are blowing in.

T5's are new and as I undrstand it are pricey,but suppose to last longer than regular VHO's

Here is a link to DIY MH's for under $100 here 9look under articles) The ballast usually costs the most, then the bulb and so on. In this case the ballast is even less than the reflector. Some have tried to get the ballast (me) and have succeded (me) but for a little more and some have not.

To most (including myself) the color is yellow, but it's the same color as the sun if you go outside and look up (don't). Some have over driven the Iwaski bulb (mercury vapor) with a HQI ballasts (usually electronic) to make it much brighter. For the money (cost of the bulb vs par - light intensity) you can't go wrong with the Iwaski. Most supplement it with actinic's.