The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am ready to start introducing some new critters into my reef. As a business owner myself, I am well aware of the importance of supporting local business. However, I am really struggling with the thought of paying, in most cases, double, what I would from reputable online sources, buy sticking with my LFS.

I know that there are store owners within this group, and I don't want to offend anyone or start a flame war by bringing up unsavory topics like this one. But is the overhead of a LFS such that they need to charge such steep prices, or am I being gouged? (For example, $39 for a small yellow tang at the LFS - $15 from liveaquaria.com)

Also, for those that do use online resources for live aquaria, what has been your level of satisfaction?

Thanks
Brad

·
Premium Member
9,467 Posts
Don't forget shipping costs. You can't get a tang into your tank from an online store for $15. Overnight shipping isn't cheap.

·
Banned
2,520 Posts
LFS should look toward their vendors to help keep them competitive. Consumers always will, And should look to get more bang for the buck. Service and walk in convenience is Only worth so much. I use our TRT sponsor often and I don't have one complaint and they are always helpfully. One thing I found buying on line is a live guarantee that LFS do not offer. A down fall is you do not get to view first.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi Greg,

That is a consideration, and I wouldn't purchase just purchase one item if I go the online route. But many of the online stores offer free shipping once you reach a minimum purchase range of say, $150.

Another consideration is that you get to see what you are buying at your LFS. But again, the question remains, is it worth the extra cash?

Thanks,
Brad

·
Master of Perplexity
3,451 Posts