The Reef Tank banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey all, I am making a DIY kalk reactor and trying to constantly dose it, however I don't want to be messing with it all the time. is there a way to hook up a pH monitor and dosing pump to automate this? I am fairly new to all the automated equipment, so suggestions, on brands and set-ups would be great. also, I would like to save as much money as possible, so used is fine by me if anyone has any. But also if anyone knows of any inexpensive set-ups. Thanks

·
I'm Back
1,686 Posts
I have my kalk reactor on a dosing pump that runs 24/7. I have the pump connected to a ultralife float switch in the sump, so if the tank does not need top off it wont add anything.

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well, i was going to have a seperate auto top off so that I wouldn't be addind kalk in large suges, but rather in small amounts constantly over time. I would love to set it up so that drip count is determined by pH

·
I'm Back
1,686 Posts
the PH should not fluctuate that much to turn on a pump to add kalk or not. You are better off matching your evaporation rate to the drip/dosing.

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I don't want the pH to turn the pump on and off, just to slow or speed the drips. for example, if the pH reaches around 8.1, the drips would speed up, if the pH reached 8.3, the drips would slow down. Thereby keeping the pH constant. But, I want the Kalk dripping all the time. How do I do this?

·
I'm Back
1,686 Posts
I dont think you PH will swing that much to begin with.

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
bump

·
Registered
2,489 Posts