The Reef Tank banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,488 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
is this a brittle star?? and if not or if it is.. is it good or bad?
its super small.. about the size of a nickel even with its arms

·
Registered
498 Posts
Maybe a serpent??? and I have heard that they can become preditory on small fish. I am not an expert though.

Chri

·
Premium Member
17,355 Posts

Looks to be most likely a mini-brittle star. These will reproduce in your tank to match the food supply available to them. They eat detritus and biofilms in the tank and also catch suspended materials from the water column when the lights are off. Many times you may see them after dark with a flashlight if you are careful to use a red bulb, often with their rays extended from the edge of the rock into the water column to catch particulates.

Harmless to reef tank corals, and will usually find niches in stony coral colonies to hide as the colonies grow. They are a sign that you received good rock. These echinoderms are, however, relished by many species of fishes, especially carnivores/omnivores like long-nosed butterflyfishes, many spp of pigmy angles, etc.

Some are all green, banded green, all tan, banded tan or brownish-tan and white banded, black, black and white banded, red, and occasionally shades of yellow. They are fissiparous, meaning they reproduce asexually by fission, and seem to do well in systems where the water is relatively clean and free of dissolved nutrients (although this to me seems to be counterintuitive, as I would THINK that they would like tanks with lots of organic materials and algae).

HTH

Attachments

·
Registered
498 Posts
See there someone who know actually chimed in before I could get done typing.

Chris

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
lucky you i been looking for mini stars for a while by any chance does any body know any where to get them

·
Premium Member
17,355 Posts