The Reef Tank banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
565 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My PH Level has been hanging around 8.20 and 8.28 and this evening just before the lights went off it was at 8.40. Is this normal or is something going on to drive it up and if so what could be the factor for driving it up. My morning reading was 7.94 before the lights came on. I have been dosing my B-Ionic daily the same amount for months and now all of a sudden this increase in PH. I did a 15 percent water change last week and I think I a will do another 10 percent this week if this is not a good thing. If anyone knows what could be causing this please let me know. Also if what should I look for that would drive up the PH.

Earl

·
Registered
565 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a PH Meter and I have been dosing my tank for 6 months at the reccomended starting dosage as on the bottle. It has been only this week that the PH started going up to 8.4.

Earl

·
Registered
658 Posts
The coral book I have says that a PH of 8.1-8.6 is acceptable to corals, but the ideal range is 8.3-8.4
I think you may be alright, but if it's just changed recently you may want to keep an eye on it so that it doesn't climb higher.

·
Registered
106 Posts
I'd pay big bucks for my PH to be that high..last nights tests came out with a Ph of 7.7 for me.

·
Registered
565 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Jerel good to hear from you. The tank is now 7 months old and I have been dosing for 6 of the 7 months. All my corals and zoos have been flourishing and I have 6 peperment shrimp and 3 cleaner shrimp and a bunch nassarius and turbo snail that are healthy as can be. Like I said this just started happening about a week or two and I haven't changed my dosing amount that I started with 6 months ago. I will monitor it. This morning I woke up and my PH was at 7.98 and the lights don't come on for another 2 hours. This is before I do my dosing. As a tank matures does the PH become more stable?

Earl

·