The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to posting to Trt, I have had fresh water tanks over the years and have always made "Inclosed" Filtering systems. But here is where my question for all of you is.

In the system that i have drawn out via auto cad i have two remote deep sand beds(Which i have never used before), with one hole at the top and no dedicated exit line. My reasoning being that the sand bed diffuses the water deeper for the process to make the N2 and this will raise the layer where that bacteria starts. Will this cause my water to "Compound" and have extremely little to no flow in the bed or is this fine being that it is working on negative pressure? (the pump is pulling the water from the system not forcing it through.)

Sadly i can not post the picture nor link to the system drawing.

Any advice/comments will be very much appreciated!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome to TRT!

we have something in discussion right now about alternative DSB, you may want to drop by, its getting good :D
Thanks! it is very interesting, i am going to follow this and see where it goes. Though there are differences in our ideas it's interesting to think of a vertical sand bed.

·
Registered
5,539 Posts
what if, instead of having one intake/outake, you have the out take be on the bottom, and have the whole water volume pass through it, instead of having more of a by pass system.

and instead of having that charchoal filter, we put a very low micron sediment filter, or even a settling tank to catch any debris that could end up in the DSB that would foul it with PO4.

any one see any contradictions to this?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
wouldn't the output at the bottom pull to much water through and not create the low o2 levels i'm looking for? and the valves are a great idea, i was originally going to put them in but i wasn't completely sure.

·
Registered
8,350 Posts