The Reef Tank banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody. It's been a few years. Looking back at some of my old threads makes me laugh a little bit. Anyway, I just recently moved into a college dorm. I have a 10 gallon planted tank with me, but I recently bought a 20 gallon long with a stand and canopy and was wondering if I could turn it into a nano reef. The tank will have a Vipar Spectra 350W. Being a student, I don't have a lot to spend, as I figured I could build it up slowly.

I'm not planning on using a skimmer, as I'll sub weekly water changes

I was wondering if I could save money on sand by purchasing play sand. I use it for my planted tank but was wondering if there is a finer form as mine is more like pebbles. I would rather spend $10 on sand then $40. Does anybody know where I can get fine, white, play sand?

As for rock, I have a lot of dried pieces back home I could place in the tank after cleaning, and pick up a small piece or two of live rock from a store.

I'm not worried about corals quite yet, as I figured I could fill the tank with a couple softies and let them grow in. I haven't considered fish yet. With the Vipar Spectra, play sand, and dry rock, is it possible? I know the hobby is not simple, and what you put in you get out, but I'm trying to see if I can make do. Anybody have thoughts or opinions?

·
Registered
8,227 Posts
What about bare bottom?
Lower cost, easier to maintain and a longer lifespan.
Being able to see the detritus as opposed to it settling into the sand (not to mention it becoming saturated with Phosphates) makes it much easier to keep a handle on things.

As for the play sand it is hard to find good pure sand.
You don't want it too fine as it won't stay put in the flow of a good reef tank.
The hobby is really only as hard as you make it. Regular maintenance and planning what livestock you keep will eliminate many of the problems.

·
Registered
55 Posts