The Reef Tank banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I flipped over a rock one of my mushrooms lives on today and found this reddish stuff covering the underside of the rock (see attachment for pic). Since I'm a novice, can you guys ID this for me? Is it bad red algae or just coralline? It seems to reddish to be coralline. It also grows in a mat and it's not fibrous.

If this is problem algae, how do I transfer my mushroom to another rock? Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
274 Posts
it looks like coraline algae which isnt bad for your tank but makes it look better in my opinion
and about removing your mushroom you might be able to rip it off or rub it off

·
Registered
573 Posts
if you touch it and it doesnt come off its corline. If it is coming off then its slime algea.

·
Registered
6,317 Posts
are there some sponges that are red, i wouldnt think the coraline would grow out of the light like that.

·
ARC Member
707 Posts
Hmm- I disagree with everyone else here.... From the picture and the description, it looks like red slime algae (Cynobacteria) that forms when there's too little flow or nutrients are too high.

If you can slide it off with your fingers or it gets blasted off in the current, then it's most likely Cynobacteria. Coraline algae has a calcium base and is always rigid and ususally has to be scraped off.

·
Registered
573 Posts
i have it on my tank too its encrusted on the rocks its only at the very top right next to the MH, From what I have read coraline grows different colors depending on how strong your lights are..

·
Registered
12,082 Posts
Pillz said:
i have it on my tank too its encrusted on the rocks its only at the very top right next to the MH, From what I have read coraline grows different colors depending on how strong your lights are..