The Reef Tank banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My button polys have been doing great, but now, i have about 7-8 "dead" ones. When i get close to them, all the other ones close up, except for those few. They look a little shriveled up and brown. i don't think anything is eating them or messing with them, and all my water params are good. So what could be wrong?

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
They weren't like this until i did my water change yesterday. I used new salt, and i only waited a few hours after mixing the salt to add it to the tank, so could this be the reason? I know this was really stupid, but i really needed the water change.

·
Registered
584 Posts
I'm a newbie myself, but I'll give it a shot if no one else will. Going by logic only, I would say if the only thing that happened is you did a water change and the problem happened right after, it must have something to do with that (or just annoying irony). The fact that you used new salt and didn't let it mix for very long makes me think that the reason could easily be that they were 'shocked' by the sudden change.

You do have to remember that all salt mixes are different, and to acclimate each organism to a different environment, you must go slow. I don't know if it's the right way, but what I do when I'm making a change during a water change is I have a ball valve on the return pump, I close it so much that it just "trickles" into the tank for atleast 30 min-1hr depending on how drastic of a change (all the new water change happens in the sump, so the sump has the new water).

Don't know how good that is for a pump (have heard it's not too bad, same effect as a lot of head on a pump), but my reasoning is the livestock will take about that long to acclimate to a new tank anyway, so it shouldn't be any more shocking to them than acclimating them to a new location.