The Reef Tank banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been battling green algea in my 40 gal reef since I set it up 9 months ago. The red slime went away, and I am left with green algea covering everything, it took over my polyps and my bubble coral which haven't opened up in over a month. I had a fluval filter and an over the side skimmer at first. I am detecting no phosphates or nitrates, and my LFS suggested I remove the fluval and the substrate and increase the air and water flow through the skimmer which I did.(haven't got all the substrate yet) I also took all the live rock out and gently removed the algea in a tub of tank water. The tank looked great for a week, and I am back to a big fat hairy green mess. The only happy creatures are my green brain and 2 cleaner shrimp. Any suggestions besides opening the back door and tossing it? Also, how do I know when to give up on the bubble and polyp? Maybe they're dead and feeding the algea?

·
Registered
714 Posts
if your stuff is dying it feeds the algae. I would vote for a cleanup crew to eat the algae.

·
Registered
1,772 Posts
Good morning pi sees,

Are you using RO/DI water?

What and how much are you feeding?

Bioload?

What type of substrate?

Maintenance routine?

Steve

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·