The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Banned
565 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I'm not a novice. Had aquaria as far back as the 1960's and successfully kept a marine aquaria in the 1980's.

I've been out of the hobby until last year. I did a very successful planted tank and now I'm planning a 10 gal reef with two perculae and an anenome.

One thing that I'm confused about. Why does everyone spend so much time and money trying to purify their water? (I know I did that back in the 80's)

I set my 10 gal up about six weeks ago with the live rock and it is doing great. I do 25% water changes per week and have had no NH4 spike or any kind of bad blooms.

I put in the percula last week and have already done one water change. They are doing great as well.

Question. How much water do you change in your tanks per week? Isn't it way better to get rid of the bad water and replace it with fresh new stuff rather than trying to biofilter it back to life?

I admit that I don't know exactly what I doing but changing your tank water seems to be a basic fact of life for good quality water.

·
I've got the REEF rash!
61,665 Posts
I do 20% a weekYou want to use good water(RO/DI) to start with to end up good water quailty for your tank.10 gallons is way to small for Anenomes.

·
Registered
2,293 Posts
I have a 46 gallon and i change about 10 gallons once a week. Also you might have trouble keeping an anemone in a 10..i commented in your other post.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hey there fellow aquarium lovers..