The Reef Tank banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to reef keeping and to this sight. I have recently purchased a flower pot thinking it was a hardy tank dweller however a friend of a friend of mine said that they have to have copipods and phytoplankton or they'll die in about 6 months.

I was wondering what you all have to say about this along with any other information you can provide me about my flower pot such as it's specific identification. I will attach a picture of it. Thank you for any help.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
9,623 Posts
Welcome to TRT..

How old is your tank? As it is you have just purchased of the hardest corals to keep IMO. I keep Goniopora and have for years.
You can look in my Signature (at the bottom of my post) at my Mix 75 thread. I go in to some detail in this thread on keeping Goniopora. And what has worked for me.

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's a new tank. I let it cycle for a couple months with live rock and sand than I slowly started adding a cleaning crew then fish and recently this flower pot. The guy who sold it to me said they were easy to take care of. Now I know better, I guess. It's a 46g acrylic bow front tank. It has about 35 lbs of live rock and 90lbs "live" sand. It's lighted by a 36" marineland Reef capable LED system. I also run a refugium supplemented by a magnum canister filter.

·
Premium Member
9,623 Posts
Well Im not going to lie to you.
1 your tank is to young to attempt this type of coral.
2 your light is not powerfull enough to provide for this corals demands.
3 this is just the top reasons why IMO you should take it back and find a new Coral guy.

Please dont think Im being hard on you, thats not my intention.. Just honest.

·
Chasing Stability
9,244 Posts
One of the first corals I bought was a Goni. LFS said it was easy. I killed in a couple months...haven't tried one since.

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·