The Reef Tank banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to the hobby. I read a lot before setting up my reef tank but nothing better than learning from experienced hobbists!
I set up last sunday a 75G tank with about 60 lbs of Tonga cured LR. ~1"1/2 Aragonite SB. Lights:150W MH and 2X65W actinic.
the refugium is 40G with Caulerpa, SB>3" with 24hrs illumination with a 65W actinic.
Salinity:35, T:25C, pH~8.4

I started to add lights in the main tank yesterday.
I'm planning to add 1 hr/day until reach the recommended 11 hr total (8 only for MH).
I tested the water for NH4, NO2 and NO3 on Wed and all readings were at 0.
Again today and nothing is happening. my undersatnding is that it happens to not have any NH4 spike with cured LR.
Then, how do I know when there will be enough bacteria to process NH4?
When can I add things?I'm planning to start with a clown and some softies (2 or 3)?
Should I just wait an arbitrary 1 month or should I add some booster (I've heard some people add a piece of shrimp or even ammonia)?

Is there anything I do wrong?
All inputs are welcome!:)

·
spaceman spiff
11,769 Posts
If the rock really "cured" in a sense that it had no remaining death on it from the shipping/collecting process, then there really wouldnt be a cycle worth mentioning. Where did you get the rock from?

You may try to add something to boost the process, I always recommend a piece of raw shrimp overnight. Honestly, it wouldnt hurt anything in any case, so maybe you could do that regardless. I would always wait as long as reasonable, so a month to six weeks will not hurt anything. There's no need to rush it, regardless of what rationale you may think you have. ;)