Votes: 3 4.8%
  • other or change when they burn out

Votes: 8 12.7%
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
A goof
2,923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have talked to a few different people about changing bulbs, I was wondering how often you generally change or plan to change VHO bulbs.

Thanks

Jon
AKA Brooke's hubby
AKA LEw
AKA Jonathan

·
Premium Member
15,839 Posts
Jon,
I run URI's with an Ice Cap 660 ballast and try to change bulbs every year whether they need it or not!;) I've read that good bulbs with Ice Cap can run as long as 18 months but feel like 12 is a good time for a change. With old-style tar ballasts, it's been my understanding that bulbs won't last as long and recommendations were for changes every 6 months. I never used tar ballasts for them so I have no personal experience.
Dick:)

·
Going Broke
1,595 Posts
Fishdaddy, where did you read this?

Did someone do a spectral analysis of the URI bulbs? I would like to be able to prolong my bulbs. Changing out 14 bulbs every 6 months gets costly. And this doesn't include the MH bulbs.

·
Premium Member
15,839 Posts
Reefcam,
This has been the topic of articles and discussions among reefers who have used Ice Caps.
See this article by Sandy Cohen, reprinted from FAMA:
http://www.icecapinc.com/famaarticle.htm

This info is also on Ice Cap's site:
http://www.icecapinc.com/

Many times manufacturer's claims are exaggerated but in this case, IMHO and IME, VHO's last a lot longer on electronic ballasts!
Dick:)

·
Registered
1,772 Posts
I have come to the same conclusion as Dick on this, one year for me too.
Steve

·
A goof
2,923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
That has been my idea as well. A few people say to change them out every 6-8 months but Ice cap says they last upto 18 months so I usually change them every year give or a take a few months.

Thanks everyone

Jon

·
Registered
119 Posts