The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been here for just a couple days, reading up and learning. I found you guys after I had the bad experience of finding out that my hubby had purchased me a gift card from Aqua Zoo for Christmas 2 days before they closed. I came here trying to find out the details.

I am fortunate in that over the last weekend, I found Rob's Reef and met Rob. He was wonderful to me... gave me a little treat for being a 1st time customer. Guaranteed that I will be a repeat customer!

I have been running a freshwater 55g for more than 15 years.

Recently delved into saltwater. Started out with tank inhabitants that we (my 11 yo daughter and I) collected ourselved near the Cocoa Beach area. After some trial and error, I believe we are on solid ground, so to speak, to a healthy and thriving tank. We initially had a 20g long and have since upgraded to a 55g. Our tanks has about 15 lbs live rock (we want a bunch more) live sand. Fish: 1 Coral Beauty, 1 Mandarin Goby (from Rob), 1 Chromis, 1 Rock Goby, 1 Royal Gramma, 1 very small snowflake eel, 1 Seabae Anemonefish.

In the sump we are temporarily holding our more aggressive juvie Cocoa Damsel and juvie Sargent Major. I'm currently looking to rehome them, as well as the juvie smallmouthed grunt in the main tank. These fish will be too big when full grown. The grunt is relatively mild mannered but the other two were picking on everyone.

We also have 3 rock anemone that we collected, an Atlantic anemone,a Chocolate chip star, 3 scarlet hermits and several generic blue hermits.

Oh, forgot to mention that I just recently stated adding in some small coral frags. Can't remember what it was that I bought at Rob's. I'll have to make notes next time I go there. Since I only have about 220 watt lights, it's a soft coral that doesn't require intense lights. I am going slowly on the coral front.