The Reef Tank banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
today i did my first WC and since im a newb lol im short around a quart of half gal of saltwater.
now heres is my question. i was wondering if i can mix sum water of the water i need to top off the tank within around 3-4 hours? i have a pump and heater in a bucket with the water right now and i know i messed up but i wanna fill the tank tonight.
is this a bad idea? i already chaged around 20% of the water now

·
Doc Holiday
2,373 Posts
What is your salinity if it is high a ro-di top off would be fine.. I don't mix my own salt water so I'm not sure on the specs on that part.. But I believe your sopost to wait 24 hours after mixing..

·
Registered
4,652 Posts
I make my new salt water up just before using it. As long as the pH, salinity and temperature are close its fine to use right away. There is a long discussion here on TRT about waiting 24 hours but the data collected was inconclusive and did not prove out the 24 hour theory that the pH is unstable.
I've been keeping saltwater for over 30 years and reefs only for about 25 and never had a problem when mixing my water shortly before using it as long as I adjust the temp, pH and salinity to closely approximate the display.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i have a 12g nano cube and my sg is around 1.023 and 1.024 give or take and the temp i have on my tank is 80 f and the water is around 79-80 degrees. but wats the biggest problem if i dont wait the full 24 hours of for a quart of saltwater mix?

·
Registered
773 Posts
I make my new salt water up just before using it. As long as the pH, salinity and temperature are close its fine to use right away. There is a long discussion here on TRT about waiting 24 hours but the data collected was inconclusive and did not prove out the 24 hour theory that the pH is unstable.