The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am looking for some help, I am fairly new to reef keeping and have had my aqua reef 300 for around 6 months. I recently decided to invest in a RO Filter, I have bought a TMC 50 and a 200 litre water butt heater and had a spare korrila 1600 power head so stuck that in to circulate. Just so I try and explain everything in my set up just in case. I have 10 meters of pipe going from my outside tap into my shed into the filter, then from the filer I have the outlet going outside with the good water feeding into the water butt, with the pump and heater in. Now to explain how I run it, I fill the water butt to 100 litres with the pump and heater on, when full I and at temp. I take the heater and pump out and add 925g of Red Sea pro salt at a time mixing in a circular motion vigorously adding the first half of the salt then the second half. I then carry on mixing until water goes clear then add the next lot so on and so on but on my first attempt I finished then went back the following day and the water was cloudy or milky, SG bang on 1023 and shined a bright light in couldn't see any residue on the bottom of the water butt that I could see. Second time I have tried and same procedure but this time towards the end of mixing the water turned the same cloudy milky look. Both times dumped the water and had to go to my local retailer and buy it ready done. What is going wrong? Just to confirm I also ran for the recommended period before collecting water.

·
Registered
870 Posts
First give the manufacturer a call and make sure there hasn't been a recall or a bad batch. I don't have experience with red sea pro, but I do see this issue come up from time to time with all kinds of brands, never really seem to get an answer as to why or what causes it. Honestly I'd take the unused salt (if its fairly new) back and ask the LFS to exchange it.

·
Registered
19 Posts