The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
456 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

My name is Dave, I live in Forest Lake, MN, and I'm new to the reef tank hobby.

At one time, I had a nice SW "fish" tank set up. Due to the wife's dislike for the tank - I got rid of it 10+ years ago. Now she's gone (divorce)...so, I just bought an established 65 gallon reef set-up that includes a 25 gallon filtration tank, a protein skimmer, 2 powerheads (1 bad), all plumbing with shutoff valves, lights, heater, live rock and live sand. No livestock is included.

I plan to pick up the unit on Thursday afternoon. I'll try to post some pics once I get it back up.

I'm really looking forward to the joys, and the challenges of the hobby. Hopefully you won't mind if I ask some basic questions along the way. :confused:

I already have a few though...

How much of the existing water should I try to transport? As much as possible?

Should I buy new medium grade "live sand", or, use what's already in the tank?

The current owner says that one of the powerheads just failed. Should I replace both of them? Just the bad one? What size and brand should I replace them with?

Thanks in advance:) ,
Dave

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
First of all welcome to TRT

Now on to some answers.
You are going to want to replace the sand. During transport there is a good chance that alot of the stuff in the sand will die and that can cause severe problems with the tank.

For the water I personally think that 20 gallons should be sufficient if any at all. The rest should be some good old pre mixed water from a pet store.
Also you are going to want to keep the live rock in some type of holding bins that have tank water in them. That way you do not have to deal with die off on the live rock.
As for the power head, just replace the bad one for now. Unless the other one has been up and running for a couple of years already, because it would be nearing the end of its life.

Hope that helps.

·