The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm brand new to the hobby and came across this site, and man am I glad I did! I've already learned tons just from reading your past conversations and doing searches for certain things. So thank you already! :agree:

Basically I've wanted to start a salt water tank for years but just haven't. But I don't want to be able to say that anymore. :) So my thought is that since I don't have a ton of money to throw at this hobby right now, that I'd start small, keep an eye out for a great deal on a larger tank, and upgrade somewhere in the future.

Right now I just have a 20g tank and a heater that I think works. I've looked around at filters, thinking of getting an Emperor 280. Other than that I'm undecided. So any suggestions that might help get me started would be great!

From what I've gathered, it sounds like its best to start with just sand and rock, let it cycle, and add from there. What are some good sand and rock suggestions?

Thanks everyone for your help.

·
Got Crabs?
5,526 Posts
Welcome aboard!

·
Registered
110 Posts
yeah

Yeah you are new like me. I have a 20 g FW but ended up getting a new 90 gallon RR that is cycling right now. The hobby is overwhelming but seems to be fun too. People on this website are so nice!
:)
Good luck and welcome!

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
deathmatch782 said:
Welcome!!!

For rock if you can, Marshall Island is very good.
Yea, I've read that a couple places now, do you know a good place to get it?

I went into a LFS and their rock was anywhere from $10# to $15# and they said they didn't know what kind it was, that it could've come from anywhere.:confused:

Thanks all for the warm welcome!

·
Registered
136 Posts