The Reef Tank banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Super Moderator
22,652 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering,(as a electrician, i 'm ashamed to ask),noticed that the grounding probe the Foster's n Smith carry is about 9" in length..all the ones i've seen/used b4 only have a probe about 2 inches....more is better?
don't nobody go THERE,,,not in the mood for funny one-liners today
just a brain scratcher for me here today,,

·
Super Moderator
22,652 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Casey said:
I would say longer is better.:)
Casey , yup, i tend to agree with ya,,,,
a "connection" is a connection with the probe no matter what, as far as the probe goes,,,,just wondering here why now they are longer,,,

·
Premium Member
18,603 Posts
humm not sure but when we use them at work we always use the longest one we can find laying around in the truck:)

·
Registered
16 Posts
ok here goes,

I have read in places that adding a grounding probe can actually induce current into a system vs grounding it. Also that the whole grounding idea is a gimmick made by vendors to sell more stuff. I am not sure I agree but, I stopped using mine.. are you sure that using one is the rite thing to do? especially if you have a stray current on your main ground line to begin with?

(I have a EE and have installed many power panels, run circuits etc.. I feel pretty at home around power panels fyi)

what do you people think?

thnx

JP

·
Registered
354 Posts
OK Jeff... if that's true and longer is better, than what do you figure I need for my sump ? About 6 feet ?

·
Registered
176 Posts
Reefmanic said:
ok here goes,

I have read in places that adding a grounding probe can actually induce current into a system vs grounding it. Also that the whole grounding idea is a gimmick made by vendors to sell more stuff. I am not sure I agree but, I stopped using mine.. are you sure that using one is the rite thing to do? especially if you have a stray current on your main ground line to begin with?