The Reef Tank banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Summer and Alyssa's Daddy
2,679 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I was a kid, my mom kept goldfish and mollies from time to time in a 20 gal and a 10 gal. I didn't keep fish, just tadpoles I caught from the local pond and released once they got legs then I graduated to keeping some of the mollie babies in my 10 gal tank. I learned some valuable lessons during this phase.

1. Goldfish and Mollies like popcorn (back then it was the Jiffy Pop type). And will continue to eat it no matter how much you toss in.
2. If you feed your goldfish and Mollies popcorn the night before, odds are you have dead goldfish and mollies, and your mom will not allow you to have anymore fish, so you are left with a tank, your little bubble diver (that has an airpump), and gravel on top of a UGF.
3. If you order seahorses from the back of a comic book, they aren't really freshwater animals (contrary to the coupon) and they don't last very long in water that has been sitting in a tank, with green algaes, a little bubble diver, gravel and a UGF.
4. If you don't know what you are doing, you really shouldn't order fish or seahorses from the back of a comic book. And Sea monkeys will not live in said tank. (I guess they make instructions for a reason).
5. If you find a pond snail in a ditch and put them in an algae filled tank. You have millions of them in a very short period of time but at least you can refill the rainwater ditches.
6. If you catch a water snake on a pond while fishing, they don't like fish tanks with stagnant water, and a million pond snail and will subsequently drown.