The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My tank has been up for a week and still cycling. I have 30 lbs of LR in it right now 55g tank but my largest piece of LR is turning white?? Is this something to be concerned with, or is it just a stage that it goes thru???

I am showing some signs of life in the tank, I have the birth of a small feather duster...

Just need a bit of reassurance...

G

·
calm down there bud....hehe yes usually coraline algae will die off in a cycle...but with proper care it will come back

·
Registered
340 Posts
You're fine. Some of the algae on the rock is probably dying off due to the cycle, was the rock purple and is now turning white?

Hang in there, this is barely the fun part.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for the quick replies...I was hoping it was nothing...It looks pretty bad with only the actnic on...complete newbie to salt...been doing FW for at least a decade...when I kill the actnic and use the daylight only, the same rock that is turning white has a bunch of small maroon protusions...Is that my coralline trying to come back??

·
Registered
340 Posts
A picture would help, but I suspect that the maroon protrusions are either algae or sponge.

Welcome to TRT!

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
actually, after making the post, I went to a link I found in one of the other discussions and it is just a microorganism blooming...something like foraminiferans...it says they are no big deal...so I will just continue to watch in bewilderment as it all develops

·
Summer and Alyssa's Daddy
2,679 Posts
Just you wait. The fun is barely started. I think I find something new on a daily basis when I started then still 2 years later, I find things new on at least a weekly basis if not more.

Ray

·
Registered
290 Posts
I try not to look at night. I see way to much stuff I have no idea what it is. Very scary :(

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·