The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello to everbody, my first post.

I have been lurking on this board for a couple of weeks reading the interesting DSB, settlement tank etc debates ,pondering what i should use for my next tank ( 250 gal plus 2 sumps and a refuge)
and i would like to hear what peoples future plans are so I can guage if i am heading in the right direction. I didnt want to start a poll as all the options are rarely covered.

Just to give you an idea , I have been kicking around the following filtration devices in my sumps/refuge:

Cryptic sump with sponges and sea squirts

Now i am not saying burn your skimmers ,but a cryptic sponge filtration system sounds like fun (sadly) and possibly a good way to skim the water efficiently. Im not an expert , well not until I get the book Ive just ordered from :

http://www.dynamicecomorphology.com/

but I like the sound of it . I have a semi cryptic refuge now and the sponge and duster growth is beautiful so any excuse

Compartmented DSB remote sump

remove a section of bed completely, export lots of detritus, phosphates etc . Now advive i would like to seek as I am guessing there will be a heavy release of bad stuff into the water which will also have to changed out.

Settlement tank using a red branching algae I am cultivating at the moment to act as a biological baffle to slow down the water flow.

http://www.lloydspage.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/images/redalgae.jpg

For a pic of the algae concerned. this will be grown on eggcrate baffling . The tank will have a drain at the bottom . Have not convinced myself it will work yet, I look forward to testing the idea.

Ok, this may be taken as complete waffle ,but i feel this is the place to talk about this. Please feel free to help me ,or explain where YOU are headed.
:D

·
Premium Member
18,603 Posts
Hi i would just like to say Welcome to TRT glad to have ya around:):banana: :banana:

·
Registered