The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2,911 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all...I have a question and since I can't seem to get people to check out my build thread I'll post it here instead ;)

Ok...going on a recommendation of a friend I bought a Wave2K. Cool idea, not so cool product IMO. I started it up last night...it seemed really cool. Not tool loud, nice wave action. I figured I was all set. I watched it work for about an hour and then we went out for a little while for some dinner. Came home and everything seemed ok again...then I checked it again and it was not working...I am not sure what happened, but it just stopped. Went to see what was going on and man was the motor HOT! I unplugged it and tried it again...nothing...unhooked the belt and the motor worked again...tried hooking it together again and nothing...I don't know. I am no electrician, but this thing seems wacky.

Anyway, I am going to try to send it back and go another route, but I am looking for suggestions. I am not going to drill for a CLS (although it would have been nice now looking back a few days), but anyway...

I like the Koralia's, I like MJ's, I was hoping for some wave action...but I do not want to spend $1k on Vortec's...so lets have em...help me out my friends, give me some ideas.

·
Caitlin Renee 6/29/07
3,199 Posts
Frank,

So you did go with the wave2k. Thats what happened to my buddies unit, it overheated and fried, never worked again. If it was me, i would look into a couple Tunze nanostreams and point them at each and let the water colliding from the nanostreams cause the random flow.

·
Caitlin Renee 6/29/07
3,199 Posts
Do you really think 2 Nanostreams would be enough for my 125 gal?
Um, no not really. I have 2 of the 6045s and a seio 820 in my 90

I would probably go with a regular tunze streams on a controller then, or 3 of the 6045s may work

For some reason i thought you had a 46 gallon. my mistake :jester:

·
Caitlin Renee 6/29/07
3,199 Posts