The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 654 Posts

·
Shark...fish are friends
5,096 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been anticipating building a large system including having a fish room to be able to hide all of my equipment so the wife doesn't complain about seeing it strewn about. I have been renting for the last several years so the first step is buying a bigger house that I can customize to include this big build.

We found a house that we really liked so we put an offer in on it and it has been accepted, we should be closing on it in the next 6 weeks or so, so now that I have an idea what the layout is going to be (and know for sure that I have a room that will work to be able to have an in-wall tank ) I'm starting to draw up some plans so I have a good idea what I want to do before I start ripping out walls.

This will be a long build, we have a few other things we're going to want to update in the house first but I'm figuring I will start ripping out walls in the fish room right away even though it will probably go back in a little slower as I have the funds to do it...

So here is my current plan... I want to do a 240 gal tank that will be visible through the wall in the living room, and I can also have the side of the tank visible from the hallway I think...

Here is a rough drawing of the room. I don't have the exact dimensions yet (just estimated based on the room size on the listing) so this will take some tweaking once we are in the house... there are two windows in the room, one of which is going to make it a pain for my stand (considering ripping it out and moving it over towards the corner of the room further, but that will be a lot of work, not sure if I want to do that or not...)

3/27/15 ETA: links to old tanks now that I've updated my signature to remove them...
20H salty work tank (1/4/15 - current) http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/f6/20-gal-softy-lps-work-tank-226333.html