The Reef Tank banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was sitting here going over my setup Ive been working on and just thought of something. The location Im going to have my 120 gal tank only has one outlet. Is it safe to use the one outlet for all that I have? Or is it a outlet OVERLOAD? What do I have to do before hooking up my tank if it is a OVERLOAD on the single outlet? I dont want to burn my hose down......:eek:
Here is a list of items I will be using:

*MH Ballasts X2 (Running 2, 250w 13,000k bulbs)
*VHO Ballast X1 (Running 2, 48" VHO Lamps)
*Moonlighting X1 (Running 10 Blue LED lights.)
*Mag 18 Return Pump X1
*ASM G3 Skimmer X1
*Compact Fluorescent 24" X1 (Refugium lighting.)
*Wave Maker X1
*Maxi Jet pumps X4 (Using for wavemaker.)
*A couple fans for cooling

·
Fish Killin' Reef Keeper
358 Posts
While I am no electrician, I think the biggest issue you need to figure out is what else is on the same circuit, and how many amps does that circuit handle?

That single outlet can be rewired to have more outlets, but what else is on the same circuit and how many amps does it draw.

In my application, I am pushing the circuit to the it's upper limits because my tank shares a circuit w/ some outlets in my kitchen. MY new tank will have a dedicated circuit for it only. Do you have any extra breakers or extra slots to add a breaker and run a dedicated box of outlets??

While this is not much of an answer, I hope it gets you thinking in the right direction......

·
Premium Member
14,398 Posts
Just to be safe i would consider having a designated circuit ran for the tank. Also, even if you dont do that, replace the outlet with GFCI's. Look at all the equipment you have, each piece should have an amp rating. On pumps they may have two, one for starting and one for operating. Add it all up and make sure that in the end you will want some extra room for additions/piece of mind/safety.

Robert

·
The Bitter Mod
7,059 Posts