The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Noo Doot Aboot It!
2,768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK since this topic has been beaten absolutely to death.....lets revisit it haha
my question is with a BB you have the risk of falling live rock and the problem of how to set up the rock as well as an aesthetically unpleasing tank and with a DSB you have the risk of all the badness of a DSB is it safe to say that a aesthetic shallow sand bed using oolitic sand is a safe alternative to both???

·
Registered
198 Posts
Hey xtopher,

I'm pretty new to all this, but I've been looking into the SB question pretty heavily right now and here is what I've found..

DSB--3-5 yr. crash w/ a wretched smelling mess to clean up

BB--still trying to find a solid chemistry flaw that cannot be worked around. Aquascaping might be a little trickier, but there are always ways around it. Mostly, the aesthetics thing is my biggest drawback cuz sand is so pretty, plus you can't keep all the little sand critters...and certain fish

SSB-- drawback, you have to vacuum... And when you do you pick up good benthic orgs. in your sand, and if your not careful and on top of your game you can cause some funky cycling in your tank, it stresses out your fish and corals.. Plus its pretty aquarist invasive, meaning, you're in your tank fooling around w/stuff all the time.. IMO a PITA

Anyway, some of the geniuses in here will jump in and might answer you better, but that's just what I think so far. I am by no means an expert...

Also, whats oolitic sand?

·
Noo Doot Aboot It!
2,768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
so then how do you place the rock in a BB so that you do not have pressure points???

·
Registered
198 Posts
Ya know what, I should probly stay out of giving advice, 'cuz every time I open my mouth I find somehting that contradicts whatever I say...

Check out the BB flaws thread in the think tank... They debate it pretty heavily in there... And those folks really know their stuff...