The Reef Tank banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
I <3 Fishies
1,271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is the build...or more yet the growth thread of my 55g(long). Im a novice that reads constantly for knowledge on reefing. This enjoyable and the start of my future. Some might have read futher and went :confused:? Reason why I stated future is because Im working towards becoming a Marine Biologist. Now I shall, continue to get back on track with the aspects of my 55g reef build(growth).

Lights:
Nova Extreme Fixture 2x54w
1-10,000k
1- actinic

2xStock light fixtures 15w each
2- actinic lights with a 42nm(im assuming thats the par)

Fish:
2 maroon clowns had for about 4 months
female-2.5" inches
male- 1.5" inches

Inverts
1 Pink Tip Condy
1 Skunk Cleaner Shrimp
1 Peppermint shrimp
3 Left-handed Hermits
1 Gulf of Mexico Hermit
1 Coral Beauty 3.5" inches

1 Canary Wrasse 3" inches

1 Engineer Goby 5"

Corals

Xenia- 5 stalks multiple polyps on each 10+
Purchased 1 as a frag and lfs noob gave me all 5 stalks.I recall about 5+ polyps i will say on them at that time.

Mushrooms
red,green, Watermelon, and a purple and blue mushroom

GSP(green star polyps
2 different version the common green ones, and 1 that is kinda light brown w/ a actinic green glow!

Zoas+ Palys

3 types
1 set of green and orange color way paid 5.00 @ lfs got nearly 6-12 polyps on branching lr

1 set of browns paid price of 1 .lb of lr

1 set of what I are J.I Joe zoas

1 set if bright peach colored palys recovering for my puffer incident

·
I <3 Fishies
1,271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
My Fts as of 06/01/2009

green item towards the mid left was a piece of algae I purchased it from lfs for 10.00...upon researching its Maiden's hair...upon being in my reef for 3 months it currently host amphipods. My Emerald crab grazes on it from time to time.