The Reef Tank banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do snails eat leather. I purchased what I thought were turbo grazers for my cleanup crew...I posted earlier that both my toadstool and "other" leather were looking miserable. The toadstool was open and beautiful one day and now shut down for 3. Just now after the lights went down to actinic only - I noticed 2 snails cruising the toadstool and one on the other peice of leather. I had to "pry" the snails off.

Is it possible that they were "just passing by" getting from rock to rock or are they the cause of the white patchiness on my toadstool?:( (see picture below).

Argh! I'll check in a few hours after total darkness to see if snails have returned....

In the mean time....any suggestions? (Perhaps these guys will serve better in my sump!!!!!)

Attachments

·
Premium Member
34,435 Posts
i am not an expert on softies, so this is all i have learned. hopefully others will chime in if i am wrong. sorry for the disclaimer, but i have been known to be wrong before.:(

i do not think it is your snails. what i think is your leather is not getting enought current, so it is starting to grow algae on its surgace. the snails are just trying to find a meal. the leather should schloff(sp.) off this coating though if the current was a little stronger.

my .02,

G~

·
Registered
658 Posts
Good attempt at the spelling there Geoff. :)
Schloff reminds me of some type of Russian Vodka. :D

It's actually spelled like 'tough'.

"slough".

That was a good try though... that's a tough word to visualize. :)

·
Registered
5,816 Posts
I have two finger leather corals and have had to move them around to find the spot they really like! They will shut down from time to time to shed a coat of muscus to rid themselves of algae. I find if they are in a good current they don't shed as much! Here is a pick of one of my finger leather corals!:)

Attachments

·
Administrator
47,633 Posts