The Reef Tank banner
1 - 20 of 237 Posts

· Registered
2,058 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First...Never Buy Anything from Skimz. They will ignore you if you have a problem with their product. They are located in Singapore and do not respond to product defects. They don't stand by their products, so don't buy them.

I randomly decided to install LEDs on my 180 before I start my fish room addition. So here's what I'm getting into. :eek:

SUMMARY ON PAGE 13, POST #193

My purpose for this build and thread is to provide a complete DIY LED build from start to finish. This is my first time doing this exact project so I will also explain the bumps in the road as I go so maybe someone can learn from my mistake. If this works well, hopefully others can use it as a reference. If you have the same tank as me and it works then you can just copy me :) i will share all circuitry and coding for the controller as well.

Plans for this build

Part 1 - Build Fixture
Part 2 - Install LEDs and drivers
Part 3 - Install controller and program to be run

Part 1 - Build Fixture

Materials:
1/8" x 1" Aluminum flat bar
3/4" Aluminum Channel
3/16" Pop Rivets
Thermal adhesive compound or pad

Pre-made Aluminum Heatsink vs. DIY Heatsink

For me, this was a pretty easy decision and here is why:

Pre-made
When pricing heatsinks the best source that I have been recommended to will not work. For pre-fabbed, the largest is a 10 inch profile and only 4 feet long for $180. Aside from price, the dimensions just won't work. Even if I had the longest one cut into three sections for my tank, the 10 in profile would still cram the LEDs into too tight of formation and not give me as much control over the lights.

While the amount of fins on these heatsinks would be ideal for the heat, its just not an option.

DIY Heatink